Ever experienced that heart-stopping moment in Gmail when you hit send on an email prematurely? 🙃

We've all been there...

Whether it's sending an email with the wrong attachment, forgetting to swap out the prospect's name from an email template, or realizing it just wasn't ready for the world to see, trying to undo a sent email can be panic-inducing.

Thankfully, the lifesaver is Gmail's undo send feature, which allows senders to retract messages in an instant. However, the default setting gives you a mere 5 seconds to undo your actions, and let's face it, that's not always enough time to catch and rectify a mistake.

Luckily, here is an visual, interactive guide on how to extend Gmail's undo send window👇

Interactive tutorial

1️⃣ Open Gmail, and click the “Settings” icon on the top right.

2️⃣ Click on "See all settings"

3️⃣ Navigate to the line with "Undo Send" and choose your desired time window.

4️⃣ Use the “Send cancellation period” dropdown to choose from 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds. We recommend 30 seconds.

5️⃣ To save your changes, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "Save Changes"!

The fastest way to create interactive product demos

Sign up